What is ECCU?

Europe-China Commercial Union (ECCU) is an EU-China business & trade promotion organization. It was founded in August 2003 in Paris, France, after the publication of the ‘Europe-China Economic and Trade Review’ magazine which has been published from 1994 in Europe and in China. ECCU aims to promote economic exchanges and cooperation between EU countries and China. It is chaired by Mr. Jacques SANTER (EU Commission President, 1998-2002) and co-chaired by Mr. Jean-Luc DEHAENA (Former Belgian Prime Minister, 1992-1999). The former French Prime Minister, Jean-Pierre RAFFARIN was also Co-president for ECCU before handing this position to his colleague Mr. Jean PIZET, senator and vice-president of UMP (French political party) in the EU Parliament. ECCU was officially approved by the Chinese Ministry of Commerce in 2003, and has settled representative offices in several Chinese cities, such as Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Hangzhou, Nanjing, Shenzhen or Hong Kong.

From its establishment, ECCU has built strong cooperation and partnerships with European institutions, such as public administrations, local governments, industry organizations, financial groups and multinational companies. Some European countries like France, Germany, UK, Italy or Belgium have developed or extended their cooperation with related Chinese institutions thanks to ECCU’s efforts.

Key actions

ECCU has organized and sponsored numerous fairs and exhibitions between the EU and China.

– In 2004: ECCU organized in Beijing the second session of the “Sino-European anti-dumping Summit” in conjunction with the second largest Chinese News Agency, Guangming Daily

– From 2005: at the request of the municipal government of Zhongshan (Guangdong Province), and the National Association of Food Industry, ECCU organized the “International Food Exhibition” which immediately became a major event in the Chinese food industry.

– From 2007: ECCU launched the “International Exhibition on Sustainable Development” in Hangzhou, at the request and in direct link with several Chinese institutions such as the National Committee on Environment and Natural Resources of the Chinese National People’s Congress, the National Commission on Development and Reform, the Ministry of Science, the Ministry of Environmental Protection, the Center for research and Development of the Central Government and the Municipality of Hangzhou.

– 2010-2011: one of the most important events in the history of agricultural cooperation between China and France has been the creation of the first pig farming project using French standards, with a capacity of 200,000 hogs per year. ECCU led this project with a strong support from the French Ministry of Agriculture and the French National Pig Institute (IFIP). This pilot project was warmly welcomed by the leaders of both countries. In this context, ECCU launched with the Chinese Ministry of Agriculture a Sino-French conference on cooperation in sustainable food and agriculture in November 2011. Since then, more and more cooperation between the EU and China have emerged in this area.

Présentation d’ECCU

Europe-China Commercial Union (ECCU), est une organisation de promotion commerciale entre l’Europe et la Chine. Elle a été fondée en août 2003 à Paris suite à la publication d’un magazine dédié à l’économie et aux échanges entre la Chine et l’Europe. Ce magazine, ‘Europe-China Economic & Trade Review’, publié depuis 1994, est diffusé auprès des acteurs économiques et politiques du monde entier. ECCU vise à promouvoir les échanges économiques et la coopération entre les pays de l’Union Européenne et la Chine. Cette organisation est présidée par M. Jacques SANTER (ancien président de la Commission Européenne, 1998-2002) et co-présidée par M. Jean-Luc DEHAENE (ancien Premier Ministre belge, 1992-1999). L’ancien Premier Ministre français, Jean-Pierre RAFFARIN, a également co-présidé ECCU avant de céder sa place à son collègue, M. Jean PIZET, sénateur et vice-président de l’UMP au sein du Parlement Européen. ECCU a été officiellement approuvé par le ministère chinois du Commerce dès 2003, et a implanté des bureaux de représentation dans plusieurs villes chinoises, comme Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Hangzhou, Nanjing, Shenzhen ou Hong Kong.

Depuis sa création, ECCU a construit de solides liens de coopération et des partenariats avec les institutions européennes, telles que les administrations publiques, les collectivités locales, les organisations de l’industrie, des groupes financiers et des multinationales. Certains pays européens comme la France, l’Allemagne, l’Italie ou la Belgique, ont développé ou étendu leurs coopérations avec des institutions chinoises grâce aux efforts d’ECCU.

Principales actions menées par ECCU

ECCU a organisé et parrainé de nombreux salons ou expositions entre l’UE et la Chine.

En 2004: ECCU organise à Pékin la deuxième session du « Forum antidumping de l’UE » en collaboration avec la deuxième plus grande agence de presse chinoise, Guangming Daily

A partir de 2005: ECCU organise annuellement, à la demande du gouvernement municipal de Zhongshan (province du Guangdong), et de l’Association Nationale de l’Industrie Agroalimentaire le « Salon International de l’Agroalimentaire » qui devient immédiatement un événement majeur du secteur agroalimentaire en Chine.

A partir de 2007: ECCU lance le Salon International du Développement Durable à Hangzhou, ceci à la demande et en lien direct avec de nombreuses institutions chinoises telles que le Comité National de l’Environnement et des Ressources du Congrès National Populaire chinois, la Commission Nationale sur le Développement et la Réforme, le Ministère de la Science, le Ministère de la protection de l’environnement, le Centre de recherche et de développement du Gouvernement Central, ainsi que la Municipalité de Hangzhou.

2010-2011: l’un des événements les plus importants dans l’histoire de la coopération agricole entre la France et la Chine a été la création du premier élevage porcin selon les normes française, avec une capacité de 200.000 porcs par an. ECCU a mené ce projet avec un fort appui du ministère français de l’Agriculture et de l’Institut national français du porc (IFIP). Ce projet pilote a été félicité par les dirigeants des 2 pays concernés. Dans ce contexte, ECCU a lancé conjointement avec le ministère chinois de l’Agriculture, une conférence sino-française sur la coopération dans l’agriculture et l’alimentaire équitable en novembre 2011. Depuis, de plus en plus de coopérations entre l’UE et la Chine voient le jour dans ce domaine en pleine expansion.